Bridal Nightmares

I am in the car, on my way to my Sangeet. I look down at what I am wearing and am horrified! The lehenga I had envisioned turned out to be a drab, ill-fitted one with everything wrong! It was made of some kind of stiff artificial-looking silk that stood up like a tent. The border was a very thin and a sad version of its original I had in mind. The blouse was reaching my hips, with stiff and loose three-fourth sleeves. And the chunni belonged to literally some other dress, all draped the wrong way. The look of the outfit was somewhat like this 😦 (Sooo 1992 right?)

I think I passed out after that as I don’t remember much else! That was the essence of one of my Bridal Nightmares!

I am a person who dreams a lot. Seriously, even when I drift for a couple of minutes on my daily commute, I find myself dreaming! Most of my dreams are quite amusing, if not downright hilarious. But I do get my fair share of nightmares. And since my conscious mind has been preoccupied lately with thoughts about the wedding, they’ve descended on my subconscious too. I had not one, but two bridal nightmares yesterday!

The other one goes like this… It was the day of my pellikuthuru function (the Telugu making of the bride ceremony) which was due to begin in a couple of hours. I reached the venue and my MUA was to arrive any minute. And that’s when I realized that I forgot to wax my arms!! Not to sound too vain, but the arms looked quite unkempt and that look will definitely not go well with my outfit. I began to hope that my MUA would bring some waxing apparatus with her, but my hopes were dashed when I realized I couldn’t do anything since it would ruin my Mehendi! Really, why I hadn’t thought about all this when I was getting my Mehendi done is beyond me, but that’s how dreams are 😦

Most married friends and cousins warned me that more than a handful of things will go wrong during the wedding and there is nothing we can do about it. I’ve been fretting about what these could be in my wedding and this has led to my nightmares.

Wait a minute… Bridal nightmares –> Disturbed beauty sleep –> More dark circles!! Aaaarrghh! Must.Stop.Obsessing.Period.

Leave a comment