Of outfits and mantras…

In May 2012, when my parents announced my wedding date, the first thing that came to my mind was: What am I going to wear? I know how that sounds… shallow. But I’ve always been the kind of obsessed about clothes and what better time than now to do exactly that: obsess! And to my extreme chagrin, I was the remote bride who had to manage things from halfway across the world! One thing I was sure of was not to wait till I go to India to buy my outfits. That would have been a disaster as I had about 10 days’ time before the functions started! Thankfully, I had my cousin to my rescue. She’s is a fabulous designer in Hyderabad and is someone who understands my taste and vision.

I wanted to be a traditional and chic Telugu bride. Now, most Indian brides are some combination or other of traditional, elegant, or modern. So although traditional and chic sounded like an oxymoron to me initially, I am happy to say that I pulled it off! (according to me, which is what counts right? ;))To sum up, these are my style mantras that I vowed to stick to throughout my outfit design:

  • Nothing OTT
  • God truly lies in the details
  • No monochromes please!
  • Something old with something new/unexpected

Stay tuned for more detailed updates on each of the wedding outfits and how the above mantras were implemented! Also, apologies to my non-existent readers for being MIA for so long!

 

Leave a comment