59 Days To Go! Progress Checklist

Just 59 days to go?? I can feel the panic rising up my stomach. But since I am far removed from the actual prep scene (oh the woes of a long-distance bride! Separate post on this later) I calm down seeing that my co-workers around me right now no one around me nearly half as excited as I am. So here is the progress checklist now that we are less than 2 months away!

– Venues and catering:

  • Reception and wedding: Outdoor venue finalized and deposit paid! The chosen decorator is the designated one for the wedding and we couldn’t be happier. The venue also takes care of the catering, but I should ask my dad to schedule the tastings when I am there 🙂
  • Sangeet: Done! Not sure if it’s going to be indoor or outdoor since it is a pretty large space. Caterers yet to be finalized.
  • Pellikuthuru: Done! It will be at a function hall attached to a large restaurant and it’s quite close to my home too!
  • Vratham: At home! It will be in the morning after my wedding and I am glad I won’t have to troop around to some distant place!

Trousseau: I will do another post of outfits, but am happy to post that its all coming together 🙂 I am not buying too many additional outfits apart from the ones I will be wearing for the events because I don’t really see too many occasions I can use them for here in the US. Just a couple anarkalis/angarkhas and a few daily wear suits and I’m sorted. Also, I Skyped my mom and sis and they showed me all the denewali or pettudu (gifts for friends and relatives) sarees and I was really amazed at the effort and resources allocated to that! But I am happy if it makes my mom happy.

Invites: My parents have finally zeroed down on the card design after a million modifications and I am yet to see it! They will start the distribution mid-October. The Guy and I have started calling and emailing our friends and relatives. I have bought some cute handmade cards for distributing locally and we will create a similar digital version for out friends and family outside California.

Photographer: Booked! We initially wanted to go with the same photog we had for my sister’s wedding. He is not exactly a candid photographer, but he gets the idea. He used HD photo and video camera, installed a huge crane for panoramic footage and included all the works! But my mom recently watched a video of a family friend’s event and was really impressed with the work. So she booked them instead. I know, you must be wondering how I had no say in this. But it would take another post to describe how photo-frenzied my mom is and I know that if she likes the work, I can rest assured 🙂 Also, since I am the long-distance bride, I’ve learned to pick my battles!

MUA: We had Tanuja from Bubbles salon do my sister’s makeup and hair for her wedding events and I was thoroughly impressed. She uses MAC products, is very professional and understands the type of look to go for based on the event. So I am going with her too! The days before the wedding, I plan to meet her and discuss my looks and will show her some pictures that I like so she has a fair idea about what I expect. She is booked for 3 events: Pellikuthuru, Reception and Wedding. I’ll be doing my own makeup for the sangeet since its a relatively smallish event.

There’s still so much to do and so much to write about! Until next time!

Leave a comment